Nokia teases new phone with QWERTY keyboard coming April 24th

nokia-qwerty-phone-tease

Nokia apparently has something cooking that it considers tease-worthy. By the looks of the image above, it seems to be some sort of QWERTY phone possibly with that BlackBerry-esque candy bar form factor.

The image comes from a short blog post from Nokia. “On Wednesday morning at 7am GMT we will be announcing something new, followed by a Q&A session with Neil Broadley from our Mobile Phones team and a special guest,” wrote Ian Delaney on the Conversations by Nokia blog.

There’s a few takeaways from this. Since the announcement comes from the Mobile Phones team and not the Lumia team, don’t expect anything high-end coming out of this new QWERTY device. Also, the unveiling takes place at 7am GMT — 3am ET and 12am PT — on April 24th so you may want a cup of coffee handy. Then again, since the time zone isn’t even close to any in America, it’s possible this handset may not even sell in the U.S.

It does seem odd for Nokia to tease a phone that’s rather basic by first impression. Usually teasers are reserved for phones that are deserving of special attention, but I suppose we’ll see on Wednesday.

[via Engadget]

Back to top ▴