Foursquare app lets you check-in friends with their permission in attempt to increase usage

foursquare 6.0

Foursquare updated its iOS and Android apps today to include a small new feature. The apps now allow you to check-in your friends when you mention them in your own check-in. Most likely, this is a feature that will benefit Foursquare more in the long run than the users, but we’ll get into that a bit later.

To check someone in, go to the Foursquare app and check-in like you usually do. Then tap the “I’m with…” button to add friends you’re with. Once you do this, those friends will get a notification on their phone asking them for their permission to let you check them in. If they say yes, they’ll get checked in and in the future you won’t need to get their permission anymore. If they say no, they’ll just simply be mentioned in your own post, which is the way it’s been up until today’s update.

There’s been some controversy lately surrounding Foursquare after reports that there’s tension brewing between employees over a recent shortage of funding. Additionally, it’s not out of the question that user growth may have stalled. The fact is Foursquare never took off in the same way that Twitter or Instagram have. So this ability to check-in friends might be convenient for users, but it seems like the main motive here would be to increase the number of check-ins on Foursquare and activity overall.

The update is available now for Foursquare on iOS and Android.

[via The Next Web]

Back to top ▴