When Google announced its new Maps app today, it touted tons of great new features. But it looks like one feature will quietly be leaving the app, Google’s Latitude location sharing service. All Google Latitude services, including its location sharing API, will be phased out on August 9th.
Latitude users begun receiving emails letting them know of the change today, and Google made an announcement in a blog post we’ve included below. The announcement outlines the phasing out of Latitude and future options for location sharing (including its addition to Google+):
Latitude will be retired
Google Latitude will be retired on August 9th, 2013. Products being retired include Google Latitude in Google Maps for Android, Latitude for iPhone, the Latitude API, the public badge, the iGoogle Gadget, and the Latitude website at maps.google.com/latitude.
What does this mean for me?
- You’ll no longer be able to share your location using Latitude after retirement.
- We haven’t included Latitude as a feature in the latest version of Google Maps for mobile on Android and we’ll remove Latitude for iPhone on the App Store.
- We’ll delete your list of friends on Latitude. You won’t be able to see or manage friends. Any existing friends will no longer see your location in Google Maps for mobile on Android, Latitude for iPhone, the public badge, the iGoogle Gadget, and the Latitude website at maps.google.com/latitude, if you continue to use these products.
While location sharing will no longer be possible with Latitude, there are still actions you can take with your location information:
- Share using Google+
You can share your location with your friends on Google+ using the Google+ Android app. The ability to share your location on Google+ on iOS will be coming soon.
- Control Location Reporting
If you only used Location Reporting for Latitude sharing, your Location Reporting will be disabled. You can enable Location Reporting afterwards if you’d like to turn it on for location sharing via Google+, Location History, or other uses.
- Control Location History
If you use Location Reporting and have Location History enabled, your location data will continue to be recorded to your Location History. You can view and manage Location History data on the Location History dashboard.
Note: We’re no longer supporting Google Maps for Mobile 6.14.4 and below for Location History or Location Reporting settings.
You’ll also see other changes:
- Third Party Applications
Applications that use the Latitude API will no longer be able to access your location data, including Location History data, on Google servers. However, these non-Google applications may continue to store data they’ve already accessed. Please contact the developer of these applications for more information.
- Latitude Privacy Reminders
We’ll remove the privacy reminder settings and you’ll no longer receive email reminders.
We’ll remove check-ins from Google Maps for mobile. Any previously enabled automatic check-ins will also be turned off. But don’t worry, you’ll be able to check in and view your past check-ins on Google+.